Skip to content

Books in Modern Day

November 25, 2012

One detail I have noticed over the last several years is how books are being written today. As I compare “classics” to the hottest books today, I see both similarities and differences. Books that are considered “classics” generally tend to have deep meaning and purpose. Though they may be not be as lively and vivid as modern novels today, they still obtain personal lessons and morals. Modern books focus more on social problems or acceptance. The focus mainly stays on the main character(s) and how they relate to society.  I just recently read A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith and  I realized how realistic/ definite its content was. Hmmmm…. Take a look yourself and see what you think.

Great Classic novels that I really enjoy are listed below:

  • A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
  • Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott
  • The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fritzgerald
  • Swiss Family Robinson by Johann David Wyss
  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding

From → Book Discussions

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment